Discover the

New Perspectives

21 interviews with renowned experts in architecture,
urban planning, computational design, digital fabrication,
smart materials, mobility, biomimicry and more.

Order Your CopyDiscover More

About The Book

Laka Perspectives is a pocket-sized source of inspiration that outlines different views on the role of architecture, the connections between spatial interventions and their social outcomes, and the pathways that connect needs and solutions in a variety of technological and social disciplines. Furthermore, the book is about the people who have decided to take action for the future through architecture, technology, and innovation. press-kit is available here

The book received a “Special Mention” in the 2018 German Design Award category of “Excellent Communications Design Books and Calendars,” and “Honorable Mention” in the 2017 International Design Awards. More information about the 2nd volume (in progress):

Publisher: Laka Foundation
Editor-in-chief: Damian Przybyła
Editors: Rafał Przybyła, Katarzyna Burzyńska
Collaborating Editor: Agnieszka Radziszewska
Partnership: Solarlux GmbH
Design: Bartłomiej Witkowski
Consultancy: Peter Kuczia
Photos: Mariusz Gruszka
Visualizations: Alek Pluta

Pages: 340 (paperback)
Format: 160 x 100 mm
Language: English

The Participants

Renowned experts in disciplines such as architecture, urban planning, computational design, digital fabrication, smart materials, mobility and biomimicry. Participants of the 2nd volume:

Sudarshan Krishnan (introduction)

Architect, Engineer, Assistant Professor of Structures in the University of Illinois

Alberto T. Estévez (introduction)

Architect, Art Historian, Ph.D of Sciences, Ph.D of Arts, Founder of ESARQ /UIC

Stefan Holtgreife (introduction)

CEO, Solarlux GmbH

Phillip McCormick


Architect, Urban Planner, McCormick Architecture

Sushant Verma


Architect & Computational Designer, Researcher, Co-founder of rat[LAB]

Aldo Sollazzo


Architect, Researcher, Manager of Noumena

Paolo Santi


Researcher, MIT Senseable City Lab, IIT-CNR, Member of IEEE Computer Society

Bettina von Stamm


Founder and Director of the Innovation Leadership Forum

Nathalie de Vries


Architect, Urban Planner, Co-founder of MVRDV

Tobias Wallisser


Architect, Co-Founder of LAVA Laboratory For Visionary Architecture

Thom Faulders


Architect, Founder of FAULDERS STUDIO, Professor of Architecture at CCA

Craig Zelizer & Catalina Rojas


Founder and CEO of PCDNetwork / Director of Innovation at PCDNetwork

Brennan Lake


Programs Director of the Technology Exchange Lab

Daniel Köhler & Rasa Navasaitytė


Urbanist, Researcher / Architect, Designer / Co-founders of lab-eds

Manuel Kretzer


Architect, Researcher, Visiting Professor at the Braunschweig University of Art

Maria Aiolova


Architect, Educator, LEED AP, Assoc. AIA, Co-Founder of Terreform ONE

Katie Crepeau


Architect, Writer and Consultant at Design Affects

Doris Kim Sung


Architect, Researcher, Lecturer at University of Southern California

Gianluca Santosuosso


Architect, Building Engineer, Designer

Piotr Kuczia


IARP and BAK Architect, Researcher, Educator

Monika Thadhani


AIA, Architect, Adjunct Professor at IIT Chicago, Founder of Education For Future

Michał Stangel


Architect, Urbanist, Vice-dean for Research at the Faculty of Architecture at PolSl

Silvia Titotto


Structural & Architectural & Aerospace Engineer, Researcher in Biomimetics

Ana María Gutiérrez


Architect, Educator, Co-founder of Fundación Organizmo, Ashoka Fellow

“Of course, we could think of architecture as a display, an extension of our smart gadgets, or another means of interaction of representation. Then, walls or windows could become haptic interfaces allowing us to communicate with the building, the environment, or others. Architecture could also become smart itself, responsive to human behaviors or anticipating habits, by integrating various sensors or actuators, e.g., for opening windows, turning off lights, or maybe even transforming and rearranging spaces.”

Manuel KretzerArchitect, Researcher, Educator

“Urbaneering is a discipline that combines architecture, urbanism, ecology, media arts, and community building. It strives to reinvent the multifarious elements that comprise a city. Its practitioners are not planners, urban designers, or architects, but urbaneers. And their task will be to facilitate the globe’s next metropolises. Urbaneering undertakes a diverse range of projects as a prescription for maximal design.”

Maria AiolovaArchitect, Educator, LEED AP, Assoc. AIA

“We have many layers of technology right now that are evolving at a very fast pace. So to be honest, it’s very hard to predict the future of computation. In one way, in a very positive sense, I would say, yes, this is the future—this is how it’s going to be in the near future. At the same time, I would like to say it is not the future, because it’s just a tool—it’s not something that defines how or what you design, it is merely a tool that helps you go from step A to step B. By the time we learn and understand this process, there will be much more advanced tools for designers to use.”

Sushant VermaArchitect & Computational Designer, Researcher, Co-founder of rat[LAB]

“Earlier, I used to believe in the wisdom of the solutions that have developed over centuries. However, we possess completely new technical means and quite new needs and expectations. When it comes to comfort, we always need to look for the most appropriate solutions to the present conditions. The most important value is to turn our brains on and look for solutions on our own.”

Peter Kuczia IARP and BAK Architect, Researcher, Educator

“The city icon must be sustainable, whether a hotel or a whole city. The local context should have a strong influence on idea development. However, there are families of ideas and solutions that can be applied to different situations. Sustainability has to be looked at beyond the question of energy consumption. Iconic buildings need to have the power to trigger people’s imagination, to become part of their desire to identify themselves with a place. ”

Tobias WallisserArchitect, Educator, Co-founder of the LAVA Laboratory for Visionary Architecture

German Design Award ’18

Special Mention

The German Design Award directly contributes to the overall commercial success. Prizes will only be awarded to projects that truly represent pioneering contributions to the German and international design landscape. The highly esteemed, international jury guarantees this. The German Design Award identifies and presents unique design trends: a competition that advances the design-oriented scene.

Visit Website

International Design Awards ’17

Honorable Mention

The International Design Awards (IDA) exists to recognize, celebrate and promote legendary design visionaries and to uncover emerging talent in Architecture, Interior, Product, Graphic, and Fashion Design. IDA aspires to draw attention to the iconoclasm of design world wide, conceptualizing and producing great work.

Visit Website


Media Partners

E-architect (UK) | Apsaidal (Spain) | infoArchitekta (Poland) | The Architecture Insight | OpenGap (Spain) | ARQA (Argentina) | A As Architecture (Serbia)

More info

$30.00 USD


Shop securely with SSL Protection